JBC shortlists 5 names to replace ex-Sandiganbayan justice

By , on February 23, 2015

Cameramen and reporters of various TV networks (right photo), along with other print and broadcast media reporters, wait in vain for the expected arrival of Sen. Jinggoy Estrada at the main entrance of the Sandiganbayan Centennial Building along Commonwealth Ave. in Quezon City on Monday morning (June 23, 2014). However, instead of proceeding to the Sandiganbayan, Estrada, accompanied by his father, former President and now Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada and other members of his family, directly went to the Philippine National Police Headquarters in Camp Crame, where he waited for his commitment order from the anti-graft court. Senator Estrada is now detained at the PNP Custodial Center along with fellow Sen. Ramon Revilla Jr., a co-accused in the plunder and graft charges filed against them in connection with the alleged pork barrel scam. (PNA photos by Gil S. Calinga)
Sandiganbayan Centennial Building along Commonwealth Ave. in Quezon City  (PNA photo by Gil S. Calinga)

MANILA — The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) on Monday shortlisted five names to fill up the post vacated by dismissed Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Gregory S. Ong.

Ong was dismissed from the service due to his links with alleged pork barrel scam queen Janet Lim Napoles.

Napoles is the alleged “brains” behind the Php10-billion pork barrel and the Php900-million Malampaya Fund scams.

”The JBC today, after its regular meeting, shortlisted five names for Sandiganbayan Associate Justice vice former SB Associate Justice Gregory Ong,” SC Public Information Office (PIO) Chief and Spokesman Atty. Theodore O. Te said in a statement issued on Monday.

The following were included in the shortlist:

— Philip A. Aguinaldo with seven votes;
— Mary Ann Corpus-Manalac – seven votes;
— Bernelito R. Fernandez — six votes;
— Assistant Solicitor General Sarah Jane T. Fernandez — six votes; and
— Department of Justice (DOJ) Undersecretary Jose Justiniano — five votes.

The five names will be submitted to President Benigno S. Aquino III for his consideration and action.