Joel Torre and Boots Anson-Roa win major awards at Golden Dove

By on May 1, 2014

boots anson roa

Boots-Anson Roa won the Best actress award for MMK. Photo from her Facebook Page.


In the recently-concluded 22nd Golden Dove Awards held at the Star Theater, Star City complex in Pasay City, seasoned actors Joel Torre and Boots Anson-Roa won major awards.

Torre was named Best TV Actor for his role in “Honesto,” while Anson-Roa got the Best actress award for a “Maalaala Mo Kaya (MMK)” episode.

Other winners were:

Outstanding individuals

Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year: Angelo Palmores

KBP Lifetime Achievement Award: Eugenio Gabby Lopez III

Best Programs

Best Newscast: “Umagang Kay Ganda” (ABS-CBN)
Best Public Affairs Program: “SOCO” ABS-CBN
Best Variety Program: “ASAP 19” (ABS-CBN)
Best Children’s Program: “KNC Show” (UNTV)
Best Drama Program: “Be Careful With My Heart” (ABS-CBN)
Best Comedy Program: “Goin’ Bulilit” (ABS-CBN)
Best Sports Program: “Sports Unlimited” (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Culture and Arts Program: “Pagtalubo Sa Pagtubod” (ABS-CBN Naga)
Best TV Special Program – “Agri Tayo” (ABS-CBN Davao)
Best TV Public Affairs Program (Provincial) – “Derecho” (ABS-CBN Iloilo)
Best TV Newscast Program (Provincial) – “TV Patrol” Northern Luzon
(ABS-CBN Baguio)

Best Public Affairs Program: “Pasada Sais Trenta”
Best Comedy Program: “The Morning Rush”
Best Radio News Program (Metro Manila): Radyo Patrol Balita Alas-Siyete (DZMM)

Best Personalities

Best Newscaster: Ryan Milos Romeo Gamboa (ABS-CBN Bacolod)
Best Public Affairs Host: Kim Atienza (“Matanglawin,” ABS-CBN)
Best Actress for Drama Program: Boots Anson-Roa (“MMK,” ABS-CBN)
Best Actor for Drama Program: Joel Torre (“Honesto,” ABS-CBN)

Best Newscaster: Julius Babao (DZMM)
Best Public Affairs Program Host: Ted Failon (DZMM)
Best Radio Magazine Program Host: Ariel Ureta (“Todo-Todo Walang Preno”)

Best Public Service Announcements: “Caring For The Elderly” (UNTV)
Best Station Promotional Materials: “Kwento Ng Pasko 2013”