GMA wins top honors at PMPC Star Awards for TV

By on November 21, 2017

Primetime King Dingdong Dantes and multi-talented actor Ruru Madrid tied for the Best Drama Actor award. (Supplied)
Primetime King Dingdong Dantes and multi-talented actor Ruru Madrid tied for the Best Drama Actor award. (Supplied)

Home to the country’s top entertainment as well as news and public affairs programs, GMA Network once again proved its excellence after winning numerous awards in the 2017 Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Television held last November 12, at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater, Ateneo de Manila University.

Primetime King Dingdong Dantes and multi-talented actor Ruru Madrid tied for the Best Drama Actor award. Dingdong won for “Alyas Robin Hood“ while Ruru won for “Encantadia”. The first season of “Alyas Robin Hood”, in turn, won as Best Primetime Drama Series.

Winning the Best Single Performance by an Actor was Pambansang Bae Alden Richards for his remarkable performance in Eat Bulaga’s Lenten Special entitled “Kapatid”.

GMA’s breakthrough comedy-musical variety show “Sunday PinaSaya” was hailed as Best Variety Show, while one of its hosts, Primetime QueenMarian Rivera-Dantes, bagged the Best Female TV Host award.

Philippine Queen of Comedy Aiai delas Alas proved that she’s still the best in her genre as she received the Best Comedy Actress award for her role in the comedy sitcom “Hay, Bahay!”

Mikee Quintos went home with the Best New Female TV Personality award for her performance in the requel of the hit primetime series“Encantadia.”

Variety game show “Wowowin” was named as Best Game Show while well-loved and high-rating family sitcom “Pepito Manaloto” received the Best Comedy Show award.

And once again, several shows and personalities under GMA News and Public Affairs were recognized by the PMPC.

The country’s most-awarded news magazine program “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho” took home the Best Magazine Show award.

Pioneering public service program “Wish Ko Lang” won as the Best Public Service Program. Its host, GMA News pillar Vicky Morales, was conferred the Best Public Service Program Host award.

Top-notch documentary program “I-Witness” was awarded the Best Documentary Program. Its hosts, GMA News Pillar Howie Severino, Kara David, Jay Taruc and Sandra Aguinaldo, won as Best Documentary Program Hosts.

Another GMA News pillar, Arnold Clavio, took home the Best Male Newscaster award for GMA-7’s late night newscast “Saksi”.

Winning the Best Morning Show award once more is the country’s longest-running morning show “Unang Hirit”.

Meanwhile, Drew Arellano was also hailed as Best Travel Show Host for GMA News TV’s “Biyahe ni Drew”.

Taking home the Best Lifestyle Show Host award were Rhian Ramos and Solenn Heussaff for “Taste Buddies”.

Another win for GMA News TV came from “The World of Gandang Ricky Reyes”, which was awarded as this year’s Best Lifestyle Show.

Furthermore, receiving special awards were Vic Sotto (Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award); Maynila (Longest Running Daytime Drama Anthology); and Rocco Nacino and Sanya Lopez (German Moreno Power Tandem).

Organized by The Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Inc., the PMPC Star Awards for TV is an annual award giving body that recognizes outstanding TV programs and personalities in the Philippines.