Rachelle Ann Go receives award for Les Mis performance

By , on June 29, 2016

Rachelle Ann Go (Facebook photo)
Rachelle Ann Go (Facebook photo)

MANILA – Filipina singer-actress Rachelle Ann Go has been given the “Best Performance of a Song” award by British theater website West End Frame for her rendition of “I Dreamed A Dream” in the classical musical Les Misérables.

The 29-year-old international theatre actress, who played Fantine in the musical, emerged atop, garnering 32 percent of over 15,000 votes. Following her was Matt Corner with 11 percent for his performance of “‘Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” in Jersey Boys.

The other runner-ups were Oliver Savile for “Dancing Through Life” in Wicked, Emma Williams for “If Mountains Were Easy To Climb” in Mrs Henderson Presents, and Matt Henry for “Hold Me In Your Heart” in Kinky Boots, among others.

Overwhelmed with the new accolade, Go thanked all those who voted for her as well as the whole cast and staff of Les Misérables. It was in June 2015 when she first portrayed the role of Fantine in.

“Wow! Thank you, West End Frame! I’d like to thank all of those who voted for me. It’s an honor to be performing and appreciated here in beautiful London’s West End. I owe this great award to you, guys!” Go said in her interview with West End Frame.

“And to the whole Les Miserables company, thank you for being so amazing and for all the support and encouragement! What a dream come true to be part of this phenomenal long-running show. I am so blessed! Cheers!,” she added.

She also took to Twitter to thank her supporters.

Last year, British theatre actor John Dagleish received the “Best Performance of a Song” award for his rendition of “Waterloo Sunset” in Sunny Afternoon. Previous winners of the award also included Tam Mutu (2014) for “Stars” in Les Misérables, Sofia Escobar (2013) for “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” in the Phantom of the Opera, and Rachel Tucker (2012) for “Defying Gravity” in Wicked.

West End Frame has been considered as United Kingdom’s leading independent theater website. It started organizing the annual awards in 2012. For the full list of winners, click here.