8 presidential aspirants make it to Comelec’s initial certified list of candidates

By , on January 21, 2016

Comelec logo
Comelec logo

MANILA – So far, eight presidential candidates are included in the initial certified list of candidates of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) for the May national and local elections.

Based on the List of National and Local Candidates for Verification posted on the Comelec website, www.comelec.gov.ph, those who are running in the highest post in the land are: Jojo Binay (United Nationalist Alliance, UNA), Miriam Defensor Santiago (People’s Reform Party, PRP), Rody Duterte (PDP-LABAN), Mel Mendoza (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino, PMP), Grace Poe (Independent, IND), Mar Roxas (Daang Matuwid, Liberal Party (LP), Roy Seneres (WPPPMMM, Partido ng Manggagawa at Magsasaka) and Dante Valencia (IND).

Also included in the partial list are six vice presidential and 52 senatorial bets, they are: Alan Peter Cayetano (IND), Chiz Escudero (IND), Gringo Honasan (UNA), Bongbong Marcos (IND), Leni Robredo (LP), and Antonio Trillanes IV (Independent).

Those who are running for the 12 senatorial seats are: Raffy Alunan, (IND), Ina Ambolodto (LP), Tonyboy Aquino (IND), Godofredo Urquiza (IND), Levito Baligod (IND), Greco Belgica (IND), Walden Bello (IND), Sandra Cam (PMP), Joel Catmon (PGRP), Mel Chavez (WPPPMM), Neri Colmenares (MKBYN), Leila de Lima (LP), Isko Moreno Domagoso (PMP), Frank Drilon (LP), Larry Gadon (KBL), Win Gatchalian (NPC), Dick Gordon (IND), TG Guingona (LP), Risa Hontiveros (AKBYN), Princess Angel Jaafar (IND), Eid Kabalu (IND), Atty. Lorna Kapunan (AKSYON), Princess Jacel Kiram (UNA), Alma Moreno Laxamana (UNA), Panfilo Lacson (IND).

Also included in the list of senatorial candidates are: Mr. Juror Lagare (IND), Rey Langit (UNA), Mark Lapid (AKSYON), Dante Liban (IND), Romeo Maganto (LAKAS), Edu Manzano (IND), Allan Montano (UNA), Mon Montaño (IND), Getulio Napeñas, Susan Ople (NP), Emma Orozco (IND), Sergio Osmeña III (IND), Manny Pacquiao (UNA), Mr. Coop Paez (IND), Samuel Pagdilao (IND), Jovito Palparan Jr. (IND), Kiko Pangilinan (LP), Carlos Jericho Petilla (LP), Ralph Recto (LP), Roger Rodriguez (IND), Martin Romuladez (LAKAS), Roman Romulo (IND), Dionisio Santiago (IND), Vicente Sotto (NPC), Francis Tolentino (IND), Joel Tesdaman Villanueva (LP) and Migz Zubiri (IND).

The Comelec noted the above-mentioned names of the candidates are the ones that will appear on the ballot.

It added that the “list, as posted, is merely an initial list and subject to editing and that the list is subject to the outcome of the various cases/issues pending before the Commission.”

The poll body said they came out with the initial list for the public especially the candidates to check on their names and to correct them if there are corrections.

For the initial names of party-list groups and other local candidates, the public may visit the Comelec website.