Mindanao lawmakers do not want to be included in the Bangsamoro region

By , on May 21, 2015

(Malacanang stock photo)
(Malacanang stock photo)

MANILA — Most Mindanao lawmakers reject the proposed inclusion in the  Bangsamoro autonomous region.

Zamboanga City Rep. Celso Lobregat is one of the Mindanao lawmakers who earlier expressed that they would not want to be part of Bangsamoro.

Lobregat’s decision was similar to Zamboanga City Mayor Isabel Climaco’s opinion on the issue.

Aside from Zamboanga, Rep. Carol Lopez of the party-list, “You Against Corruption and Poverty,” said that the General Santos, her hometown, and South Cotabato will also not be joining Bangsamoro.

In a press conference, Zamboanga del Norte Rep. Seth Frederick Jalosjos also said that  he does not want his province to be a part of ARMM or the new envisioned region.

“My province will never be part of ARMM (Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao) or this new Bangsamoro region,” he said.

“We have opted out of this region in two previous plebiscites, and the will of our people should be respected,” he added.