Pacman leads list of top taxpayers for 2013

By , on March 30, 2015

8-Division Boxing Champion and Sarangani Representative Manny 'Pacman' Pacquiao (Facebook photo)
8-Division Boxing Champion and Sarangani Representative Manny ‘Pacman’ Pacquiao (Facebook photo)

MANILA — Sarangani representative and boxing champion Manny Pacquiao is still the country’s highest tax payer, according to a list released on Friday by the Bureau of Internal Revenue.

As of Nov. 24, 2014, Pacquiao paid P163.8 million in regular income taxes for the taxable year 2013.

Next to Pacquiao is Juanito Alcantara who paid P99.6 million in taxes, followed by Lawyer Estelito Mendoza, owner of E.P. Mendoza Law Office and who served as solicitor general from 1972 to 1986,  with P73.2 million in taxes, Reynaldo Chico Jr. (P67.3 million) and property tycoon Andrew Tan (P67.2 million).

On the sixth place was Rizal Commercial Banking Corp. President Lorenzo Tan with P60.9 million, followed by Palawan Gov. Jose Alvarez (P55.6 million).

The eight place was taken by Vivian Que-Azcona, president of Mercury Drug, with P51.6 million in taxes followed by Meralco president Oscar Reyes (P51.44 million) and Insular Life chair and chief executive officer Vicente Rafael Ayllon (P50.1 million).

Ramon Ang, President of San Miguel Corp ranked 12th the list with P46.5 million.

Names of celebrities were also in the list including President Aquino’s sister, Kris Aquino was 16th with P40.5 million, Piolo Pascual (P42.5 million), John Lloyd Cruz (P41.9 million), Sharon Cuneta-Pangilinan (P39 million), Willie Revillame (P38.3 million) and Anne Curtis-Smith (P28.3 million).

The BIR released the list to the public in accordance with the requirements of Republic Act No. 9480, known as the Philippine Tax Amnesty Act of 2007.