JBC to vote on shortlist for replacement of ex-Sandigan justice on Monday

By , on February 22, 2015

Alleged pork barrel scam mastermind Janet Lim-Napoles. (Photo from Sen. Bam Aquino's official Facebook page)
Alleged pork barrel scam mastermind Janet Lim-Napoles. (Photo from Sen. Bam Aquino’s official Facebook page)

MANILA — The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) will have its shortlist for the post vacated by dismissed Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Gregory Ong due to his links with alleged pork barrel scam queen Janet Lim Napoles.

Napoles is the alleged “brains” behind the Php10-billion pork barrel and the Php900-million Malampaya Fund scams.

The JBC is set to vote on Monday on the list of 38 applicants for the post left by Ong.

One of the contenders is Department of Justice (DOJ) Undersecretary Jose Justiniano.

Justiniano was one of the prosecutors in the impeachment trial of then Chief Justice Renato C. Corona.

He was also the defense lawyer for United States Marine Lance Corporal Daniel Smith in the 2005 Subic rape case.

Justiniano is currently part of the prosecution team handling the plunder cases against three senators implicated in the multibillion-peso pork barrel scam before the Sandiganbayan.

Other applicants for the post are Zamboanga City Regional Trial Court (RTC) Judge Gregorio Valencia Dela Peña III, Assistant Solicitor General Sarah Jane Fernandez, Caloocan City RTC Judge Aurelio Rambayon Ralar, Jr., Makati City RTC Judge Andres Soriano and Mandaluyong City RTC Judge Esteban Tacla, Jr.

Also vying for the post are Tarlac City RTC Judge Cesar Limbo Aganon, Mandaluyong City RTC Judge Ofelia Lineses Calo, Antipolo City RTC Judge Kevin Narce Batan Vivero and Manila RTC Judge Armando Alvarez Yanga.

Also included in the list of applicants are Arthur Abudiente, Jeoffre Acebido, Philip Aguinaldo, Selma Alaras, Rowena Apao-Adlawan, Divinagracia Bustos-Ongkeko, Maryann Corpus-Manalac, Ma. Celestina Cruz-Mangrobang, Henry Damasing, Salic Dumarpa, Geraldine Faith Econg, Berndelito Fernandez, Victoria Fernandez-Bernardo, Maria Amifaith Fider-Reyes, Alice Gutierrez, Globert Justalero, Eleanor Kwong, Gernao Francisco Legaspi, Ronaldo Martin, Benjamin Pozon, Jonel Sebastian Mercado, Silvino Pampilo, Jr., Vernard Quijano, Rosanna Fe Romero Maglaya, Ruben Reynaldo Roxas, Edgar Santos, Salvador Timbang, Jr. and Merianeth Pacita Zuraek.

Likewise, the JBC will also vote on Monday for the lone vacancy in the Court of Appeals (CA).

This is for the position vacated by CA Associate Justice Vicente Veloso who retired on Jan. 7, 2015 upon reaching the compulsory retirement age of 70 years old.

There are 31 applicants vying for the post which also include Judges Pozon, Pampilo, Zuraek, Roxas, Abudiente, Gutierrez, Apao-Adlawan, Bustos-Ongkeko, among others.