Impeachment complaint against Pres Aquino endorsed by 3 solons

By , on July 21, 2014

Pres. Benigno Simeon Aquino III (Malacañang Photo Bureau)
Pres. Benigno  Aquino III (Malacañang Photo Bureau)

MANILA – An impeachment complaint on the grounds of betrayal of public trust and culpable violation of the constitution has been filed against President Benigno Aquino III by activist group BAYAN and other complainants at the House of Representatives, and has likewise been endorsed by three lawmakers.

Three Makabayan bloc congressmen endorsed the complaint namely Bayan Muna party-list representatives Neri Colmenares and Carlos Zarate and Anakpawis Rep. Fernando Hicap.

The accusations against Aquino are rooted in his disbursement acceleration program (DAP), recently declared unconstitutional the Supreme Court.

For their part, the administration has invoked good faith and has also appealed for a reconsideration of the Supreme Court ruling against the DAP.

However, the complaint refuted Aquino’s claims of good faith defense, stating that: “On the good faith defense. President Aquino cannot invoke or feign good faith or regularity of his acts since he created, implemented, and defended the DAP and all unconstitutional acts under it. He approved, ordered and committed the acts and practices declared by the Supreme Court as unconstitutional. His 12 years of experience as part of the governmental branch with the sole power of appropriation negates any pretension that he does not know the legal implications of his actions.”

At the helm of the complainants – many of whom also petitioned the Supreme Court to question the legality of the DAPO – a are the Bagong Alyansang Makabayan (BAYAN), Volunteers Against Crime and Corruption (VACC), Confederation for Unity, Recognition and Advancement of Government Employees (COURAGE) and Atty. Jose Malvar Villegas, Jr., leaders of peoples’ organizations, church people and netizens; who filed the complaint as citizens and taxpayers of the nation.

The complaint was filed one week before the President’s State of the Nation Address