Pres. Aquino leads ‘People of the Year’ awards night

By on January 23, 2014


Photo: Facebook Page of Pres. Benigno Aquino III

MANILA, Philippines –  A star-studded awards ceremony to honor PeopleAsia’s People of the Year was led by President Benigno Aquino III.

Vice President Jejomar Binay, top government officals, the diplomatic corps and the movers and shakers of business, entertainment and civil society were also there to grace the event.

PeopleAsia’s Lifetime Achievement Award was given to National Book Store founder Socorro “Nanay Coring” Ramos, 90.

Aquino, in his speech, honored Ramos for her contribution to cultivate a love of reading and consequently, a love of learning in Philippine society, “Her example shows all of us that true success is found not only in a thriving business, but also and more importantly, in the dedication and values that make it a mainstay of our society.”

Among this year’s People of the Year are Miss World 2013 Megan Young, superstar Nora Aunor, Rizal Banking Commercial Corp. chair Helen Yuchengco-Dee, five-time PBA “Coach of the Year” Chot Reyes, critically acclaimed film director Brillante Mendoza, “Prince of Indie” Coco Martin, Shell Philippines country chair and MAP Management Man of the Year Edgar Chua, ABS-CBN channel head Cory Vidanes, Cavite Gov. Jonvic Remulla, pop diva Kuh Ledesma, fashion designer Criselda Lontok, pioneering prosthodontist Steve Mark Gan, education advocate Fr. Gerard Deveza and Australian hotelier Thomas Meyer of Raffles and Fairmont Hotels.

It was in 2004 when PeopleAsia started to recognize outstanding individuals in business, entertainment and advocacies.

People of the Year 2014 was sponsored by Raffles and Fairmont Makati, RCBC, Thai Airways, Rustan’s, G.A.O.C, Nars, Laura Mercier, L’Occitane, Starworld, Coca-Cola, Aboitiz, ICTSI, Cream Factory, House of Obagi, L’Oreal, Philex Mining and The Philippine STAR.

“In true PeopleAsia fashion, I see that we have also broken a little from tradition because we are not only joined by this year’s batch of awardees, but also by a particular group of people I have met with before,” the President noted.

The event was hosted by Marc Nelson and Bianca Valerio.


With Reports from Philippine Star